Barely Breaking Even hand over selector duties to ‘IF Music’ for a second installment of fine ass Deep Jazz rarities as part of their ‘You Need This’ compilation series.

London’s record store numbers have been decimated over the last few years, but a few hardy souls lashed themselves to their masts and made it through to the somewhat less dangerous waters of today’s vinyl buying market. The most dapper of the aforementioned souls is IF Music’s Jean Claude Thompson, a man so thoroughly eloquent in the art of peddling Jazz, you risk destitution just setting foot in his shop.

Jean Claude Thompson

It’s the second time that UK Institution B.B.E have tapped into J.C’s enormous passion and knowledge of Jazz. ‘You Need This! A Journey Into Deep Jazz Part 2’ is another belter. The 3 LP set, to be released on Feb 24th, centres around spiritual, soulful Jazz made in the late 70’s and early 80’s. There are live recordings galore, and no edits, so you get musicians in their element and at the farthest reaches of their powers, a kind of free jazz listening experience without the invoulntary twitching afterwards.


‘Deep Jazz 2’ will unveil some serious future favourites and provide you with the chance to own some killer tracks on vinyl without a bank breaking jaunt on Discogs. Highlights include some corkers on Italian label Soul Note (A buy on sight label) that bestowed upon the world the magnificent ‘Trip To Prillarguri’ Live LP by The George Russell Sextet feat. Jan Garberek.

Also, ‘Movements’ from Sestetto Giorgio Gaslini’s ‎’Free Actions’ LP from 1977 showcasing the ill saxophone soloing of Gianluigi Trovesi.

The absolute spine tingling moment here though,  is the inclusion of a holy grail, privately pressed, marathon slab of super-deepness by pianist Bradley Parker Sparrow and his band, entitled ‘Latin Funk.’


Whatever your definition of deep, you’ll be needing this one on the record shelf.

Full Tracklist:

A1. Billy Bang Sextet – Abuella
B1. Sestetto Giorgio Gaslini – Free Actions – V Movimento
B2. Dick Griffin – Now Is The Time
C1. Tina Marsh Creative Opportunity Orchestra – Benediction
D1. Sparrow – Latin Black Funk
E1. George Russell Sextet feat. Jan Garberek – Theme
E2. George Russell Sextet feat. Jan Garberek – Souls
F1. Tina Marsh Creative Opportunity Orchestra –

RELEASE DATE: 24th Feb 2017
If Music presents: You Need This! A Journey Into Deep Jazz Vol.2
Compiled by Jean-Claude
LABEL: Barely Breaking Even/BBE