Oh house dance right now! Here’s Alexander Lay-far’s Jump Higher (Feat. Mark De Clive Lowe) taken from the “How I Communicate” album on Stockholm’s Local Talk.

‘Dedicated to the freestyle / house / jazz / experimental dance scene in Russia and worldwide!’ Alexander Lay-far

Full Album Tracklist:
1. Intro
2. Like The First Time Feat. Magic Number
3. Dva Kolca Dva Konca Interlude
4. Lock and Rock
5. Slope (Upbeat) Feat. Ashley Beedle and Darren Morris
6. Jump Higher Feat. Mark De Clive-Lowe
7. Draw Your Bow VS. Restless Soul Fun Band & Shea Soul
8. It’s Spiritual Interlude
9. Side 2 Side (I Just)
10. Submerging
11. 4/4 Interlude
12. Mystical Rhythms / Kaleidoscope Represent Feat. Sean McCabe
13. Another Way (The Siren Song)
14. Drop The Time Feat. Ann Weller
15. One more interlude
16. Rising / In Between Concepts
17. Outro

Releasing an album is a daunting task, especially in dance music. You got to keep it fresh and exciting from the very beginning until the last track and ultimately tell a story with your music.

Alexander Lay-Far knows a thing or two about this, having his debut album ”So Many Ways” out back in 2013. The thing with Lay-Far and a big reason why we’ve always had a soft spot for him is the way he incorporates a certain magic in his tracks that leaves you on an uplifting and optimistic note. Therefore we’re really excited to release his second album, “How I Communicate”, on Local Talk!

The album was produced in Moscow, Russia in the end of 2014-2015, and as the author puts it: “Many of the featured tracks came to life as the result of actual international or imaginary spiritual journeys”. With a linguistic background and Master degree in foreign language studies, in his new album Lay-Far questions the official importance of the non-poetic verbal communication, utilizing heavy dance rhythms, funky grooves, catchy soulful hooks and overall spiritual messages with lots of cultural allusions. To his aid he has invited an impressive cast of collaborators such as Ashley Beedle & Darren Morris, Sean McCabe, Mark De Clive-Lowe, Magic Number, Ricky Reid just to name a few.

Travelling the world far and wide, Lay-Far intended this album as a metaphor, reflection about the way a musician communicates with his listener. How such a non-local and very ephemeral, abstract thing as music manifests itself in a very physical and tangible way, regardless of the place and time: through the vibrations, dance, unity, interaction of kindred spirits and mutual expression of feelings and emotions.

“How I Communicate” is a two part vinyl release which we hope will come as a fresh breeze in these days where so much dance music simply lacks the actual musical (song) aspect or the organic approach!